You are here


USENIX honors members of the community with three prestigious annual awards which recognize public service and technical excellence: 

The winners of these awards are selected by the USENIX Awards Committee. The USENIX membership may submit nominations for any or all three of the awards to the committee.

Call for Award Nominations

USENIX requests nominations for these three awards; they may be from any member of the community. Nominations should be sent to the Chair of the Awards Committee via by May 1 each year. A nomination should include:

  1. Name and contact information of the person making the nomination
  2. Name(s) and contact information of the nominee(s)
  3. A citation, approximately 100 words long
  4. A statement, at most one page long, on why the candidate(s) should receive the award
  5. Between two and four supporting letters, no longer than one page each

The USENIX Lifetime Achievement (Flame) Award

The USENIX Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes and celebrates singular contributions to the UNIX community in both intellectual achievement and service that are not recognized in any other forum. The award itself is in the form of an original glass sculpture called "The Flame," and in the case of a team based at a single place, a plaque for the team office.

Details and past recipients can be found here.

The Software Tools Users Group (STUG) Award

The Software Tools Users Group Award recognizes significant contributions to the general community that reflect the spirit and character of those who came together to form the Software Tools Users Group (STUG). This is a cash award.

STUG and the Software Tools effort were characterized by two important tenets. The first was an extraordinary focus on building portable, reusable libraries of code shared among multiple applications on wildly disparate systems. The other tenet, shared with the UNIX community, is "renegade empowerment."

The Software Tools Users Group gave users the power to improve their environment when their platform provider proved inadequate, even when local management sided with the platform provider. Therefore, nominees for the STUG Award should exhibit one or both of these traits in a conspicuous manner: a contribution to the reusable code-base available to all or the provision of a significant enabling technology directly to users in a widely available form.

Details and past recipients can be found here.

The LISA Award for Outstanding Achievement in System Administration

This annual award goes to someone whose professional contributions to the system administration community over a number of years merit special recognition.

Details and past recipients can be found here.