USENIX honors members of the community with prestigious awards that recognize public service and technical excellence. Currently, USENIX presents the USENIX Lifetime Achievement (Flame) Award, the winner of which is selected by the USENIX Awards Committee. The USENIX membership may submit nominations for the Flame Award to the committee.

Call for Flame Award Nominations

USENIX requests nominations for the Flame Award; they may be from any member of the community. Nominations should be sent to the Awards Committee via at any time. A nomination should include:

  1. Name and contact information of the person making the nomination
  2. Name(s) and contact information of the nominee(s)
  3. A citation, approximately 100 words long
  4. A statement, at most one page long, on why the candidate(s) should receive the award
  5. Between two and four supporting letters, no longer than one page each


The USENIX Lifetime Achievement (Flame) Award

The USENIX Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes and celebrates singular contributions to the USENIX community in both intellectual achievement and service that are not recognized in any other forum. The award itself is in the form of an original glass sculpture called "The Flame," and in the case of a team based at a single place, a plaque for the team office.

View details and past recipients.

The LISA Award for Outstanding Achievement in System Administration

Presented from 1993 to 2014, this award honored those whose professional contributions to the system administration community over a number of years merited special recognition.

View details and past recipients.

The Software Tools Users Group (STUG) Award

Presented annually from 1996 to 2014, the STUG Award recognized significant contributions to the reusable code-base available to all and/or the provision of a significant enabling technology to users in a widely available form. Past recipients were chosen for reflecting the spirit and character of those who came together in the Software Tools User Group (STUG).

View details and past recipients.