Call for Nominations: 2019 John Karat Usable Privacy and Security Student Research Award

In honor of John Karat's contributions to the usable privacy and security community and his dedication to mentoring students, SOUPS has instituted the John Karat Usable Privacy and Security Student Research Award.

The Karat Student Award will be presented to a graduate student based on:

  • Their research in usable privacy and security
  • Their efforts to mentor others
  • Their community service for usable privacy and security (e.g., volunteer activities in conferences)

The winner of the award will be announced at the SOUPS conference.

To be eligible, the student must have graduated no earlier than 18 months prior to the conference. Thus for the 2019 award, current graduate students and those who have graduated no earlier than January 2018 are eligible.

The deadline for nominations is Friday, May 24, 2019 Friday, May 31, 2019 (Deadline extended).

Nominees will be notified of the outcome on Wednesday, June 26, 2019.

Nominations will include:

  • The student's best three usable privacy and security papers. These papers must have been submitted for publication while the nominee was a student. The papers may have been published (or accepted for publication) in any peer-reviewed venue.
  • A CV covering the student's research and activities in the area of usable privacy and security while they were a student. It should include matriculation date, and graduation date if that has already occurred.
  • A statement from the student (up to one page) describing their contributions to usable privacy and security research, to mentoring, and to usable privacy and security community service.
  • Three letters of support. The letters of support should include descriptions of the student's specific contributions to the papers in the nomination package, as well as comments on the student's mentoring and service.

Nomination packages, in the form of a single PDF, should be sent to

Karat Award Chair

Kent Seamons, Brigham Young University

Karat Award Committee

Adrienne Porter Felt, Google
Matthew Smith, University of Bonn, Fraunhofer FKIE
Elizabeth Stobert, Carleton University
Blase Ur, University of Chicago
Mary Ellen Zurko, MIT Lincoln Laboratory