SOUPS Impact Award

The SOUPS Impact Award was instituted in 2014, on the 10-year anniversary of SOUPS. It is to be presented every third year to the authors of a SOUPS conference paper that has had a significant impact on usable security and privacy research and practice. The winner of the award is announced at the SOUPS conference.

To be eligible, a paper should have been published no earlier than 5 and no later than 10 years before the year in which the award is presented. For example, for the presentation at SOUPS 2017, the paper should have been published at SOUPS 2007 through SOUPS 2012. The selection committee will focus on a paper's impact as judged by influence in the research community, a community of practice, industry, and/or social impact resulting from the work.

The initial selection pool is drawn from the top most-cited SOUPS papers of the eligibility period, excluding the previous winner. The most highly cited paper need not be the winner because citation counts are not necessarily accurate and because citations are not the sole measure of impact. Instead, the winner will be selected by the Selection Committee after online discussion.

Selection Committee

The Awards Selection Committee shall consist of between 5 and 15 current or former program committee members. Members will be appointed by the selection committee chair(s). To be eligible, a committee member may not be an author or co-author of one of the initial selection pool.

The committee chair shall adjudicate conflicts of interest, appointing substitutes to the committee as necessary.

SOUPS 2020 Impact Award

Folk Models of Home Computer Security
Rick Wash
SOUPS 2010

Honorable Mention
Where Do Security Policies Come From?

Dinei FlorĂȘncio and Cormac Herley
SOUPS 2010

Impact Award Committee Chair

Mary Ellen Zurko, MIT Lincoln Laboratory

Impact Award Committee

Joe Calandrino, Federal Trade Commission
Sonia Chiasson, Carleton University
Maximillian Golla, Max Planck Institute for Cyber Security and Privacy
Heather Richter Lipford, University of North Carolina at Charlotte
Scott Ruoti, University of Tennessee, Knoxville