USENIX Association

Proceedings of the Nineteenth Symposium on Usable Privacy and Security (SOUPS 2023)

August 7–8, 2023 Anaheim, CA, USA

© 2023 by The USENIX Association

All Rights Reserved

This volume is published as a collective work. Rights to individual papers remain with the author or the author's employer. Permission is granted for the noncommercial reproduction of the complete work for educational or research purposes. Permission is granted to print, primarily for one person's exclusive use, a single copy of these Proceedings. USENIX acknowledges all trademarks herein.

ISBN 978-1-939133-36-6

Symposium Organizers

General Co-Chairs

Patrick Gage Kelley, Google

Apu Kapadia, Indiana University Bloomington

Technical Papers Co-Chairs

Katharina Krombholz, CISPA Helmholtz Center

for Information Security

Rick Wash, Michigan State University

Technical Papers Committee

Ruba Abu-Salma, King's College London

Taslima Akter, University of California, Irvine

Florian Alt, Bundeswehr University Munich

Nalin Asanka Gamagedara Arachchilage, The University

of Auckland

Hala Assal, Carleton University

Adam J. Aviv, The George Washington University

Rebecca Balebako, Google

Alexandru Bardas, University of Kansas

Eleanor Birrell, Pomona College Jean Camp, Indiana University

Camille Cobb, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Lynne Coventry, Northumbria University Sauvik Das, Carnegie Mellon University

Pardis Emami-Naeini, Duke University

Cori Faklaris, University of North Carolina at Charlotte

Carrie Gates, Bank of America

Maximilian Golla, Max Planck Institute for Security and Privacy

Julie Haney, National Institute of Standards and Technology

Rakibul Hasan, Arizona State University

Cormac Herley, Microsoft Research

Jun Ho Huh, Samsung Research

Patrick Gage Kelley, Google

Hyoungshick Kim, Sungkyunkwan University

Bart Knijnenburg, Clemson University

Janne Lindqvist, Aalto University

Heather Lipford, University of North Carolina at Charlotte

Sana Magsood, York University Abigail Marsh, Macalester College

Peter Mayer, University of Southern Denmark

Susan E. McGregor, The Data Science Institute

at Columbia University

Mainack Mondal, Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur

Maryam Mustafa, Lahore Institute of Management Sciences

Alena Naiakshina, Ruhr-Universität Bochum

James Nicholson, Northumbria University Simon Parkin, Delft University of Technology

Emilee Rader, Michigan State University

Irwin Reyes, Two Six Labs

Franzi Roesner, University of Washington

Scott Ruoti, The University of Tennessee

Florian Schaub, University of Michigan

Kent Seamons, Brigham Young University

Matthew Smith, University of Bonn

Jessica Staddon, JPMorgan Chase

Elizabeth Stobert, Carleton University

Jose Such, King's College London and VRAIN-UPV

Blase Ur, The University of Chicago

Josephine Wolff, The Fletcher School at Tufts University

Heng Xu, American University

Yaxing Yao, Virginia Tech Daniel Zappala, Brigham Young University

Leah Zhang-Kennedy, University of Waterloo

Mary Ellen Zurko, MIT Lincoln Laboratory

Invited Talks Chair

Joe Calandrino, US Federal Trade Commission

Lightning Talks and Demos Co-Chairs

Taslima Akter, University of California, Irvine

Kopo Marvin Ramokapane, University of Bristol

Lightning Talks and Demos Junior Co-Chair

Nikita Samarin, University of California, Berkeley

Karat Award Chair

Heather Lipford, University of North Carolina at Charlotte

Posters Co-Chairs

Hala Assal, Carleton University

Joshua Reynolds, New Mexico State University

Posters Junior Co-Chair

Kentrell Owens, University of Washington

Tutorials and Workshops Co-Chairs

Daniel Votipka, Tufts University

Yaxing Yao, Virginia Tech

Tutorials and Workshops Junior Co-Chair

Kelsey Fulton, University of Maryland, College Park

Mentoring Co-Chairs

Sana Maqsood, York University

Scott Ruoti, The University of Tennessee

Mentoring Junior Co-Chairs

Sabid Bin Habib, Indiana University

Lea Gröber, CISPA Helmholtz Center for Information Security

Publicity Co-Chairs

Martin Degeling, Ruhr-Universität Bochum

Yixin Zou, Max Planck Institute for Security and Privacy

Local Publicity Chair

Yaxing Yao, Virginia Tech

Publicity Junior Co-Chair

Jane Im, University of Michigan

Email List Chair

Lorrie Cranor, Carnegie Mellon University

Accessibility Chair

Liz Markel, USENIX Association

USENIX Liaison

Casey Henderson, USENIX Association

External Reviewers

Aniqa Alam Arkaprabha Bhattacharya Matt Dixon Leona Lassak Francesca Mosca Mir Masood Ali Amel Bourdoucen Marco Gutfleisch Henrik Lassila Collins Munyendo David Balash Yee-Yin Choong Franziska Herbert Kevin Lee Andy Regenscheid Benjamin Berens Verena Distler Sungsu Kwag Philipp Markert