**USENIX** Association

# Proceedings of the Eighteenth Symposium on Usable Privacy and Security (SOUPS 2022)

August 7–9, 2022 Boston, MA, USA

## © 2022 by The USENIX Association

### All Rights Reserved

This volume is published as a collective work. Rights to individual papers remain with the author or the author's employer. Permission is granted for the noncommercial reproduction of the complete work for educational or research purposes. Permission is granted to print, primarily for one person's exclusive use, a single copy of these Proceedings. USENIX acknowledges all trademarks herein.

ISBN 978-1-939133-30-4

## Symposium Organizers

#### **General Chair**

Sonia Chiasson, Carleton University Apu Kapadia, Indiana University Bloomington

**Technical Papers Co-Chairs** Manya Sleeper, *Google* Rick Wash, *Michigan State University* 

#### **Technical Papers Committee**

Olabode Anise, Figma Nalin Asanka Gamagedara Arachchilage, University of Aukland Hala Assal, Carleton University Rebecca Balebako, Google Alexandru Bardas, University of Kansas Lujo Bauer, Carnegie Mellon University Jasmine Bowers, MITRE Cristian Bravo-Lillo, Ciberseguridad Humana Lynne Coventry, Northumbria University Lorrie Cranor, Carnegie Mellon University Sauvik Das, Georgia Institute of Technology Mary Ellen Zurko, MIT Lincoln Laboratory Jinjuan Feng, Townson University Carrie Gates, Bank of America Julie Haney, National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)Jun Ho Huh, Samsung Research Hyoungshick Kim, Sungkyunkwan University Bart Knijnenburg, Clemson University Janne Lindqvist, Aalto University Jennifer Marlow, Google Abigail Marsh, Macalester College Peter Mayer, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology Susan E. McGregor, Data Science Institute, Columbia University Mainack Mondal, Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur Alena Naiakshina, Ruhr-University Bochum James Nicholson, Northumbria University Simon Parkin, Delft University of Technology Emilee Rader, Michigan State University Robert Reeder, Google Karen Renaud, University of Glasgow Scott Ruoti, The University of Tennessee Florian Schaub, University of Michigan Kent Seamons, Brigham Young University Jose Miguel Such, King's College London Blase Ur, University of Chicago

Kami Vaniea, University of Edinburgh Emanuel von Zezschwitz, Google Daniel Votipka, Tufts University Tara Whalen, Cloudflare Josephine Wolff, Tufts University Heng Xu, American University Yaxing Yao, University of Maryland, Baltimore County Leah Zhang-Kennedy, University of Waterloo

#### Lightning Talks and Demos Co-Chairs Sanchari Das, University of Denver

Kopo Marvin Ramokapane, University of Bristol

Lightning Talks and Demos Junior Co-Chair Taslima Akter, Indiana University Bloomington

Karat Award Chair Blase Ur, University of Chicago

**Posters Co-Chairs** Hala Assal, *Carleton University* Camille Cobb, *University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign* 

**Posters Junior Co-Chair** Kelsey Fulton, *University of Maryland* 

**Tutorials and Workshops Co-Chairs** Yaxing Yao, *University of Maryland, Baltimore County* Leah Zhang-Kennedy, *University of Waterloo* 

Tutorials and Workshops Junior Co-Chair Harjot Kaur, Leibniz University Hannover

Mentoring Co-Chairs Mohamed Khamis, *University of Glasgow* Scott Ruoti, *The University of Tennessee* 

Mentoring Junior Co-Chairs Eva Gerlitz, University of Bonn Ananta Soneji, Arizona State University

**Publicity Co-Chairs** Adam Aviv, *The George Washington University* Martin Degeling, *Ruhr-University Bochum* 

**Publicity Junior Co-Chair** Yixin Zou, *University of Michigan* 

Email List Chair Lorrie Cranor, Carnegie Mellon University

Accessibility Chair Liz Markel, USENIX Association

USENIX Liaison Casey Henderson, USENIX Association

# **External Reviewers**

Jody Jacobs James Mattei Carson Powers Sarah Radway Ronald Thompson Samantha Katcher Rhea Votipka Benjamin Berens Kailani R. Jones Dalton Brucker-Hahn Yousif Dafalla Shawn Robertson William Seymour Natalie Janosik Adam Jenkins Brian Singer