USENIX Association

Proceedings of the 21st USENIX Conference on File and Storage Technologies

February 21–23, 2023 Santa Clara, CA, USA

© 2023 by The USENIX Association

All Rights Reserved

This volume is published as a collective work. Rights to individual papers remain with the author or the author's employer. Permission is granted for the noncommercial reproduction of the complete work for educational or research purposes. Permission is granted to print, primarily for one person's exclusive use, a single copy of these Proceedings. USENIX acknowledges all trademarks herein.

ISBN 978-1-939133-32-8

Conference Organizers

Program Co-Chairs

Ashvin Goel, University of Toronto

Dalit Naor, The Academic College of Tel Aviv-Yaffo

Program Committee

Nitin Agrawal, Google

Deniz Altinbüken, Google Research

Lakshmi N. Bairavasundaram, VMware, Inc.

Randal Burns, Johns Hopkins University

Ali R. Butt, Virginia Tech

Rong Chen, Shanghai Jiao Tong University

Sangyeun Cho, Samsung Electronics Co.

Young-ri Choi, UNIST (Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology)

Alex Conway, VMware Research

Peter Desnoyers, Northeastern University and Red Hat

Yu Hua, Huazhong University of Science and Technology

Sudarsun Kannan, Rutgers University

Sanidhya Kashyap, EPFL

Kimberly Keeton, Google

Geoff Kuenning, Harvey Mudd College

Patrick P. C. Lee, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Youyou Lu, Tsinghua University

Xiaosong Ma, Qatar Computer Research Institute, HBKU

Peter Macko, MongoDB

Ethan Miller, University of California, Santa Cruz, and

Pure Storage Hyungon Moon, UNIST (Ulsan National Institute of Science

and Technology)
Adam Morrison, Tel Aviv University

Beomseok Nam, Sungkyunkwan University (SKKU)

Sam H. Noh, UNIST (Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology) and Virginia Tech

Raju Rangaswami, Florida International University

Rob Ross, Argonne National Laboratory

Jiri Schindler, Tranquil Data

Philip Shilane, Dell Technologies

Liuba Shrira, Brandeis University

Keith A. Smith, MongoDB

Haris Volos, University of Cyprus

Carl Waldspurger, Carl Waldspurger Consulting

Avani Wildani, Emory University

Youjip Won, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST)

Gala Yadgar, Technion-Israel Institute of Technology

Work-in-Progress/Posters Co-Chairs

Ram Alagappan, University of Illinois at

Urbana-Champaign

Aishwarya Ganesan, University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign

Test of Time Awards Committee

Nitin Agrawal, Google

Jiri Schindler, Tranquil Data

Steering Committee

Nitin Agrawal, Google

Marcos K. Aguilera, VMware Research

Casey Henderson, USENIX Association

Dean Hildebrand, Google

Kimberly Keeton, Google

Geoff Kuenning, Harvey Mudd College

Arif Merchant, Google

Sam H. Noh, UNIST (Ulsan National Institute of Science and

Technology) and Virginia Tech

Don Porter, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Raju Rangaswami, Florida International University

Erik Riedel

Jiri Schindler, Tranquil Data

Bianca Schroeder, University of Toronto

Keith A. Smith, MongoDB

Eno Thereska, Alcion

Carl Waldspurger, Carl Waldspurger Consulting

Hakim Weatherspoon, Cornell University

Brent Welch, Google

Ric Wheeler, Facebook

Gala Yadgar, Technion—Israel Institute of Technology

Erez Zadok, Stony Brook University