Check out the new USENIX Web site.
FAST '08 Banner

2008 IEEE Reynold B. Johnson Information Storage Systems Award
Sponsored by the IBM Almaden Research Center

Presentation: Wednesday, February 27, 8:30 a.m.–9:00 a.m., during the Opening Remarks and Awards, by Lewis Terman, 2008 IEEE President

Alan Jay Smith 2008 Recipient: Alan Jay Smith, Professor, Computer Science Division, University of California, Berkeley

2008 Award Citation: "For contributions to the performance analysis of computer storage systems, including improvements to disk caches, prefetching and data placement"

During his 34-year professional career, Alan Jay Smith has established himself as an authority in the field of storage system performance evaluation through his work on algorithms for managing the placement, movement, and caching of data in and between levels of the memory hierarchy. His work has improved the ability of input/output devices and storage and memory systems to better keep up with rapidly increasing processor and circuit speeds. His work has included studies of disk caching, file migration, device interconnect, block and file placement, performance analysis methodology, and workload analysis and survey papers.

?Need help? Use our Contacts page.

Last changed: 14 Feb. 2008 ch