Check out the new USENIX Web site.

Nominating Committee Report, 2012 Election for USENIX Board of Directors

[Back to Current Board of Directors page]

The USENIX Association is governed by its Bylaws and by its Board of Directors. Elections are held every two years, and all eight Board members are elected at the same time. Four of them serve at-large and four serve as statutory officers: President, Vice-President, Secretary, and Treasurer.

Per Article 7.1 of the Bylaws of the USENIX Association, a Nominating Committee proposes a slate of Board members for the membership's consideration. As a practical matter, the purpose of the Nominating Committee is to balance continuity and capability so as to ensure that the incoming Board is composed of persons shown by their actions to be both dedicated to the Association and prepared to lead it forward.

The USENIX Nominating Committee is pleased to announce the candidates whom we have nominated for the upcoming USENIX Board of Directors election:

PRESIDENT Margo Seltzer, Harvard School of Engineering and Applied Sciences and Oracle
VICE-PRESIDENT   John Arrasjid, VMware
SECRETARY Carolyn Rowland, National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
TREASURER Brian Noble, University of Michigan
AT LARGE David N. Blank-Edelman, Northeastern University
  Alexandra (Sasha) Fedorova, Simon Fraser University
  Garth Gibson, Carnegie Mellon University
  Patrick McDaniel, Pennsylvania State University
  Niels Provos, Google
  Dan Wallach, Rice University
  Ric Wheeler, Red Hat

I am very pleased that all of these exceptional individuals have agreed to devote their time and talents to serving the USENIX Association and the advanced computing community.

Alva L. Couch
Chair, USENIX Nominating Committee

?Need help?

Last changed: 18 Nov. 2011 jel